It is the responsibility of the Spencer County Sheriff’s office to collect property taxes for the State, the County, School Districts and sometimes, cities (if the Sheriff has contracted with each of these entities for this service).  In addition, almost every Sheriff’s office collects taxes for some other special taxing district or special function such as fire protection districts, libraries, etc.

Please be aware that in no way does the Sheriff’s office ever assess any value on property in the county.  If you feel your property assessment is incorrect, you should contact the Spencer County Property Valuation Administration at (502) 477-3207. This authority is responsible for all property valuation and tax assessment in Spencer County.

The tax bill you receive from the Sheriff’s office is derived from a calculation of the assessed value of the property and the tax rates levied by the taxing authorities. The Sheriff’s Office is responsible for collecting taxes in the tax districts within Spencer County. Tax bills are mailed out on October 1st each year and your tax bill will include the following important information:

  • When the taxes are due
  • What to do to avoid penalties
  • What to do if your taxes are paid by your mortgage company
  • How you can pay your tax bill

The 2019 the collection dates are as follows:

  • 2% Discount – October 1 – November 1
  • Face Value – November 2 – December 31
  • 5% Penalty – January 1 – January 31
  • 21% Penalty – February 1 – April 15

For Property Valuation questions, please call the Spencer County Property Valuation office at the phone number listed above.

For any other questions, feel free to call our office at (502) 477-3200.